Skip to main content

Want to nominate someone?

Excela Health is proud to participate with health systems nationwide in recognizing nurses who create an exceptional patient care experience with the DAISY Award.

DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The DAISY Foundation was formed in November 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died at age 33 of complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP) to acknowledge nurses for the work they do for patients and their families every day.

Nurses may be nominated by patients, families, colleagues, physicians and other staff. Nominees will be judged for their compassionate care, knowledge, teamwork, clinical expertise and professional collaboration.

Each awardee is recognized publicly with a certificate commending her or him for being an "Extraordinary Nurse,” and a sculpture called A Healer’s Touch, hand-carved by artists of the Shona Tribe in Africa.

Our awardees include:

Natalie Hoag, BSN, RN, PCU, Latrobe Hospital
Marjorie Thomas, BSN, RN, MBA, Nursing Administration, Westmoreland Hospital

Sheilah Reskovac, RN, ICU, Frick Hospital
Amy Medved, CRNP, Family Additions Maternity Center, Westmoreland Hospital
Anne Highlands, RN, Family Additions Maternity Center, Westmoreland Hospital

November 2015
Kelly Neubauer, Emergency Department, Westmoreland Hospital

July 2015
Susan Poklembo, Advanced Wound Center

April 2015
Carrie Polo, IMU Latrobe Hospital

2014 Daisy Team Honoree

2D Collaborative Care Unit, Westmoreland Hospital

December 2014
Rita Martin, Integrated Care Unit, Frick Hospital

August 2014
Joann Condron, Nursing Supervisor, Latrobe Hospital

June 2014
Janet Tinkey, Behavioral Health

January 2014
Claire Hogan, 1D, Westmoreland Hospital